#NaPoWriMo – Day 3 – 4/3/18

 

news of two deaths today
people my age
one with money
one without
lately I barely sleep
then wake in a cold sweat
grateful for aching joints
grateful I can still bleed
though I don’t want to again
they cut me down the middle of
my chest for repairs
like a broken copier
looked through my permanent magnet motor
replaced one of the rollers
adjusted the magnetic force and
checked for jams and bits of
torn secrets
I’ve known since I was ten
every day I sang Tick Tock
Tick Tock Sounds the Clock
and when I closed my eyes
I counted down the beats
as they flew away
tiny birds I couldn’t hold
migrating south
I wanted to be remembered
for my courage
except I think they removed it
like an empty toner cartridge
that leaks when it is old
leaving black powder on every page
clusters of minute screams for help
congregating like errant plots
I read every single one

Green Not Hazel
©jacqualine-marie 2018

 

 


 

 

4 thoughts on “#NaPoWriMo – Day 3 – 4/3/18

  1. This takes my breath away:
    I wanted to be remembered
    for my courage
    except I think they removed it
    like an empty toner cartridge
    that leaks when it is old
    leaving black powder on every page
    clusters of minute screams for help
    congregating like errant plots
    I read every single one

    The beginning – the being old part – all of it down to short lines with so much subtext I could read this all day and still not finish. Amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Woman, you are on fire.

    Left my comments on your post.

    I am so freaking intimidated by your voice, and encouraged all at the same time. If a human can capture all of this, ALL of this, in such a small space, maybe there’s hope for me and my writing yet.

    Freaking amazing.

    Tammy Vitale, Realtor/GRI

    RE/MAX One 132 Main St, Prince Frederick, MD 20678 If you want to upsize, downsize or just-right-size your personal property or real estate portfolio, I would love to partner with you to make all your real estate transactions go as smoothly, timely and stress free as possible!

    Your referral are always welcome!

    410-474-9818 (cell) (410) 535-6291 (office)

    ________________________________

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You make me blush. It is because of you that I am writing – I need to be pushed. Awful. But true. And then it just shows up. You are part of these pieces because of your incredible support. This is how I’ve come to truly understand that art is never created in a vacuum. (And who knows if these pieces are art. Not everyone sees them as such and that’s fine) We need community, encouragement. Thank you for suggesting I participated in #NaPoWriMo2018. For all I know, my writing brain might check out tomorrow. We’ll see how it goes.

      Like

Comments are closed.